Cheryl Angel

LiteracyTeacher

Chapter 2 in The Literacy Teacher’s Playbook by Jennifer Serravallo is about analyzing the data and it was as insightful as Chapter 1. She suggests that in order to promote students you should begin by focusing on strengths not weaknesses. She said, “teaching possibilities comes from noticing something that is already a strength for the student.” This seems obvious and simple, but I am not sure how often it is practiced. Often times we are quick to point out what the student is doing wrong, instead of building on what they are already doing well.

As I mentioned in a previous post I am collaborating with a Grade 4 teacher as students work in groups on the project. They are using a Google Document shared with me and the members of the group. With access to the shared document, I will be able to easily collect data throughout the research process. This has become a wonderful tool to use. I will look at the Google doc to see if the information is relevant, accurate, and complete. I will look at the document to find strength and plan ways that I can help them. When students come into the library, I will be prepared to conference with individual groups.

I will also include a Research Inventory. I liked how Serravallo considered engagement to document interest in reading and writing and I plan to include it in my Research Inventory tool. The plan is to document my observation when I see the groups working in the library.

I also like how Serravallo uses a table to collect and analyze data. I used her thinking to create the following table to better fit my purpose.

Tool Strengths Possibilities for Growth
Research Inventory from my observations
Engagement
Collaboration

Google Doc (Research)
Relevent
Accuate
Complete

